Invitation to mystery

 

Definition of mystery

  1. 1a :  a religious truth that one can know only by revelation and cannot fully understand

  2. 2a :  something not understood or beyond understanding :

 

 

I am amazed at times at how the simple thing in life contain something deeper about them, something hard to define. The beauty of the sunrise this morning made my heart ache.  It was not a red and orange summer sunrise-the type  often taken by the ocean and hanging framed in a beach side gift shop.  No, I witnessed it on an ordinary twilight drive to work in February, through the winding roads of a small, south eastern New Hampshire town.  As I rounded the bend toward the old meeting house baptist church, the sky greeted me with  a solemn array of colors-deep blue turquoise smudged with dark lilac with just a touch of white  and purplish pink.  It was subtle  and grand at the same time, and seemed to break into the silence with quiet words that only the soul can decipher and the mind must struggle to comprehend. I can only write that I felt an awesome depth and gravity mingled in the colors mixed with hope and wonder. This masterpiece was not locked away in a museum but flung out in the open for all to enjoy without cost. This phenomenon exist in varying degrees of visibility and beauty every day, twice a day.  It is like a sacred mystery is awaiting us, there every morning, if we choose to embrace it.  Yet because it is cloaked in ordinary life, we often miss it.

Maybe this is why Jesus said the kingdom belongs to little children.  To them the world is a wide place full of glory and wonder.  They do not rush past the pink and white flowers of spring or the gold and burnt orange leaves of autumn.  A toad or frog which would repulse adults like myself are a thing to marvel at and capture at all cost.  I suppose in some way adults too seek to appreciate beauty through art and literature-but I sometimes think we rush over the real loveliness around us in a desperate and ambitious attempt to capture it.  Not that the action itself is invalid-We are made in the image of the creator and thus creative.   It is the lack of awe and reverence in our pursuits that betray us. The heavenly glories around us are untamed, vast and wild, and we can only reflect, not recreate them.

Sometimes I find the ordinary everyday tasks of life mundane, meaningless, and mingled with depression.  I look at myself and wonder why I am not like this Jesus I claim to follow.  I step on the scale and am forced to remember that charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting.   The snow I marveled at as a child is now something that adds difficulty if not danger on my drive to work.  Some mornings the only thing I can get excited about is a good cup of coffee for a dollar plus tax at the gas station. Then in the bleak muddy grey of winter a sunrise lifts me up briefly, reminding me that something extraordinary exist outside myself…and seems to be calling me, tugging at my heart strings, calling me home.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by

hephzibah75

I am a recovering approval addict admitting my brokenness and trying to recover authenticity and vulnerability in my walk with God.

Leave a Reply

