Life Is Not A Poem

“I had as yet no notion that life every now and then becomes literature—not for long, of course”…Norman Maclean  A River Runs Through It and Other Stories

Many are familiar with the movie with Brad Pitt directed by Robert Redford but of course, like most good movies it was a book first.  The writing style is haunting and poetic, full of allusions to nature with a little dash of some kind of faith thrown in.  In short it is very Celtic and beautiful.

However, he is right.  Life is not literature for long.  We live in a fallen world full of ugliness.  Abuse, rape, violence, murder-they  are all ugly things.

The God who wrote the Psalms and Isaiah gave us down to earth parables.  He also died a violent bloody death.  Only He could turn something so ugly into a beautiful sacrifice.  Yet the sins that held Him there were not pretty.

I am an idealist.  In my walk with Christ I have tried to use my writing to paint beautiful pictures.  I want life to be beautiful, a work of art.

Yet it is not.  It is a work in progress and very messy.  It doesn’t always feel like a sacred mystery or a piece of art work. Sometimes it’s just a bunch of broken pieces that don’t make sense.  I’ve try to put them together and cut my hands. So this weekend I give it up to Him.  And I will keep having to do it.  I cannot control my depression.  Just let Him get me through it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by

hephzibah75

I am a recovering approval addict admitting my brokenness and trying to recover authenticity and vulnerability in my walk with God.

Leave a Reply

